Home - 10th Grade - Integrated Science 1: Ocean - HS Library at International School of Manila

Overfishing

JSTOR Articles
Click here to read articles about Overfishing in JSTOR database. Check the username and password in Clever.
Environmental impact of Overfishing (EBSCO Articles)
Click here to access full text articles about the environmental impact of overfishing in EBSCO databases. Check the username and password in Clever.
Overfishing and Ocean Health (EBSCO Articles)
Click here to access full text articles about overfishing and ocean health in EBSCO databases. Check the username and password in Clever.
Overfishing (Gale: Global Issues in Context, password: explore)
Overfishing articles (Gale: Science in Context, password: explore)
Overfishing articles (The Economist - check username and password in Clever)
Forming Common Cause to Fight Overfishing

Climate change in black and white
When air pollution hurts people’s health and heats up the climate it makes sense to do something about it. But what about pollution that cools the planet?

Oceans and the Environment
The impact of Climate Change on Ocean Health and Marine Resources.

Not just a pretty face
In the battle against climate change, corals have a few tricks up their sleeve, finds Michael Slezak.
6 Aspects of American Life Threatened by Climate Change
wo dozen federal agencies flagged the biggest dangers posed by a warming planet. The list spreads across American society.
A crash course on climate change, 50 years after the first Earth Day
1.How bad is climate change now? 2.How do scientists know what they know? 3.Who is influencing key decisions? 4.How do we stop fossil fuel emissions? 5.Do environmental rules matter? 6.Can insurance protect us? 7.Is what I do important?

The Dinosaur-Killing Asteroid Acidified the Ocean in a Flash
The Chicxulub event was as damaging to life in the oceans as it was to creatures on land, a study shows.

Aquaculture and its Environmental Effects
Full text EBSCO articles on the environmental effects of Aquaculture.
A new way to feed the world
Click here to read about fish farming and its effect to the environment.
Reports on Aquaculture in China
David Barboza, the author of the latest article in our series on China’s environment, joins the roundtable to point readers toward some good primary sources.

Mining the wealth of the ocean deep
California Oil Spill Closes Beaches and Renews Call for Drilling Ban
A pipeline transporting oil from offshore platforms spilled at least 126,000 gallons of oil in Southern California, the state’s largest such leak since 2015.
Mining the deep ocean will soon begin
What will that mean for existing denizens of the abyss?

Nuclear Pollution JSTOR Articles
Full text articles on Nuclear Pollution.
Nuclear Pollution EBSCO Articles
Click here to access full text articles about nuclear pollution in EBSCO databases. Check the username and password in Clever.
The world is facing an upsurge of nuclear proliferation
Thirty-one countries, from Brazil to Sweden, have flirted with nuclear weapons at one time or another. Seventeen launched a formal weapons programme. Just ten produced a deliverable bomb. Today nine states possess nuclear arms, no more than a quarter-century ago. Yet the long struggle to stop the world’s deadliest weapons from spreading is about to get harder.
The Nuke that might have been
Despite new safety features, nuclear reactors still use the same nasty old technology

Covid-19 has led to a pandemic of plastic pollution
As the world produces more protective equipment—and gorges on takeaways—pity the oceans
Only 9% of the world's plastic is recycled
Most of the plastic waste that reaches the ocean comes from Asia
Here Is Who’s Behind the Global Surge in Single-Use Plastic
A new report shows that a surprisingly small number of big companies and banks are behind the manufacturing and financing of much of the world’s single-use plastic.
This Fjord Shows Even Small Populations Create Giant Microfiber Pollution
Researchers found that one tiny Arctic village’s unfiltered sewage produces as much microplastic as the treated waste of more than a million people.
Countries Tried to Curb Trade in Plastic Waste. The U.S. Is Shipping More.
Data shows that American exporters continue to ship plastic waste overseas, often to poorer countries, even though most of the world has agreed to not accept it.
Confronting the Plastic Pollution Pandemic
News Feature: Microplastics present pollution puzzle
Tiny particles of plastic are awash in the oceans—but how are they affecting marine life?
Plastic Pollution articles
more...less...
EBSCO full text articles on plastic pollution.

China’s reluctance to come clean
The November 13th discharge of some 100 tonnes of benzene and nitrobenzene from a petrochemical plant in the north-eastern province of Jilin could end up causing political damage as well as physical harm.
Pollution in China: Something in the air?
Locals think they know why their children are sick.
EBSCO: Petrochemical Pollution
Full text articles on Petrochemical Pollution available in EBSCO databases.

Altantic Ocean current shows weakening signs
NEW YORK — Atlantic Ocean currents that make Northern Europe warmer than it would otherwise be have weakened by about a third over the last 50 years, British oceanographers are reporting.
Connecting Changing Ocean Circulation with Changing Climate
Ocean Currents and Climate
Scientists across the globe are trying to figure out why the ocean is becoming more violent and what, if anything, can be done about it. Ocean currents, including the ocean conveyor belt, play a key role in determining how the ocean distributes heat energy throughout the planet, thereby regulating and stabilizing climate patterns.